Saturday, May 9, 2015

View Our Brand New Pet Supplies Store

We just opened a new store for everyone to buy from a large selection of dog food, cat food, dog toys, cat toys and so much more to come.  So if your tired of the saying well we can order it for you then check out our site so you can save gas money and enjoy the benefits of's great shipping.
View Our Dog and Cat Supplies Store.

Sunday, January 31, 2010

Natural way of getting rid of fleas.

So once the weather starts warming up, wonderful flea season will sneak it's ugly head apon us once again.  Lately their have been numerous stories online about flea medicines killing animals because of counterfeit product being made over in china.  Their are numerous ways to kill fleas using some of your own house hold items.  I have 5 ways to get rid of fleas on your animal, house and yard.

1.  Dawn Dish Soap, Yes Dawn works wonders to kill fleas immediately on the body of the animal.  It works so well I sometimes wonder why I don't invest in their stock during flea season (lol)  Now here is the way to bath your dog or cat.  Start at face (just watch out for the eyes, nose and mouth area) Scrub it in well and work slowly toward the tail and using a flea comb comb off all the dead ones.  (That's when you will be shocked).  Now as your washing from the face toward the tail the fleas are all fleaing toward the other part of the body thats when you scrub the soap in and comb them.

2.  Know for the house.  With this next technique you can work day and night with half the work.  First during the day use your vacuum and cut up a flea collar and but it in the bag or bag less part and start vacuuming.  What this does is kills the fleas as they go in the vacuum because when you vacuum with out the collar in it, the fleas can sometimes crawl back out when you turn it off.  Second for while your asleep take a bowl of water and stir some dawn dish soap in it and a lil lemon juice and put a desk lamp hovering over it.  The heat and lemon draws them to the bowl and they crawl in and die from the dawn soap.  Use for about a week and you might see no more fleas.

3.  For your yard you can use lemon to to spray your yard for a natural way to kill them.

4.  Also to get rid of fleas on your dogs bedding or dog house you can use cedar chips to repel the fleas.

For more methods and ways to kill fleas check out these
How to protect your pets from fleas

Winning the war on fleas

Veterinary Secrets Revealed

Homemade Forceful Insecticides Formula

Saturday, January 30, 2010

New way on how to get rid of pet urine, Check out this recipe!!

So I know everyone is always looking for a new way to get rid of pet odors well wit this recipe PeeAway! has been know to be effective against urine odors on rugs and carpets, upholstery, clothing, closets, blankets, baseboards, wooden floors, vinyl flooring, basements, outdoor decks and kennels.  The price is very inexpensive and the recipe consist of product that everyone has in their house.  Just think it cost pretty much the same to buy a cleaner from the store that may not work.  With this Recipe you could have the solution on hands at all time and recreate it for far less then traveling to the store and spending $10 on a bottle.  From the website it list  So check out their site PeeAway! Formula Here

Benefits of Using the PeeAway! Formula:

• Helps neutralize pet urine odors
• Prevents Pet Urination in Specific Areas
• It’s Affordable, because you make it yourself
• Long Lasting
• Safe to Use
• Easy to Apply
• Proven Effective
• Can be Used Indoors & Outdoors
• Instant Results
• It Works Like An Invisible Shield
• Never Need To Buy Again!
• No Shipping Fees

Great durable dog toy that can be used to fetch.

So here is a toy I haven't seen in a pet store unfortunate.  These are Clix Dumbbells.  These are great for many things like training your dog for retrieval.  These are great because the handle is off the ground so your dog doesn't get any grass or dirt in it's mouth.  These also float in the water and being that it's red it's very easy to see.  So for all the hunters out their here is a perfect dog toy for your hunting dog to practice it's skills.  This toy is made for durable plastic and comes in 3 different sizes to suit your dogs of all sizes.

Sizes are as followed  Afghan Hound, Alaskan Malamute (L/XL), Bassett Hound, Bearded Collie, Bernese Mt/Dog(L/XL), Boxer (L/XL),Briard (L/XL), Bulldog, Chow Chow, Clumber Spaniel, Dalmatian, Elkhound, English Setter, Flat Coated Retriever,Foxhound,  German Shepherd ( L/XL), Golden Retriever,Gordon Setter (L/XL), Greyhound, Irish Setter, Irish Water Spaniel, Kerry Blue Terrier, Labrador(L/XL), Lurcher, Maremma S/Dog (L/XL), Newfoundland ( L/XL), Old English Sheepdog (L/XL), Wheaten Terrier, Springer Spaniel, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Weimaraner  (L/XL).

Friday, January 29, 2010

Durable dog toy for a crazy junkyard chewer.

I know this toy has been around a while and doesn't receive the notice that it deserves I thought I would take a moment and tell about the benefits of this toy.  This toy is made for a hard durable rubber (that's why the name is Tire Biter)  These toys I have recommended to pit bulls and mastiffs.  As we all know those are some of the most destructible chewers out their.  Now just like every toy, their are some dogs out their that can destroy them.  ( I yet to meet one).  These Tires come in many sizes and some come with ropes but I don't recommend them because if the rope is worn down a little the dog will pick at the hole were the rope was at.  You even can play fetch with these and they float, so you can have fun at the lake with these.  You can click the linkpicture and go to amazon and see it for sale.  So give this dog toy a try and see the
indestructibility of this dog toy and trust me you won't be sorry.

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Great interactive dog toy the GoDogGo Tennis Ball Launcher

I came across the dog toy, it's called the GoDogGo Tennis Ball Launcher.  It's a very durable toy that can be powered by batteries or even plugged into the wall.  This dog toy also comes with a remote or you can switch to an automatic setting that launches a ball every 7 to 15 seconds. Also you can set the distance of 15 to 30 feet on this dog toy so it can be used practically anywhere.  With the 6 D batteries it can be used up to 5 hours of continuous play with your dog.  My dog goes crazy when I pull this machine out.  I have also trained my dog to put the tennis balls in the bucket so he can pretty much entertain himself which is great just to sit back and relax and watch him entertain himself with his new favorite dog toy.  This toy retails for $119.95, which I know your thinking this cost a lot of money but trust me its worth it, especially to burn some energy of your puppy.  Check out this site to buy it or receive info GoDogGo Tennis Ball Launcher

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Save money with these durable sterlized beef bone dog toys.

I know what your thinking oh great another cell phone commercial.  (Not at all) For the last year I have doing a test on my dog Sherwood to see the durability of these beef bones that I recommend to almost anyone who has a dog with chewing problems.  So the two bones on the left are 9 inches and only have the divets out of them after a YEAR.  The other two are about 4-5 inches and have been chewed on the last 8 months by my dog.  On average my dog will gnaw at these bones for at least 4-5 hours.  So as you can see this is the reason I recommend these bones.  You could have a Jaws of life chew on these and they would still last a while.  These are great because I can wash these in hot water to get the dirt off or caked in Peanut butter.  These can be stuffed with peanut butter, cheese whiz,  wet dog food, pretty much anything that you can shove in it.  Also to get the longest use out of the things you stuff it with is to freeze it.  If you use these let me know what you think.

Monday, January 25, 2010

New product for cleaning up after your dog by bissell.

Bissell has two new products out that are great for removing stains and odor. The cleaners are called Eww and Dang and they are oxygen-activated non-toxic cleaners.  Both have a quite a unique look that will grab your attention so it's not hard to miss.  One is a Entire Black bottle with yellow lettering on it.  The other is black with blue writing.  So who ever did the marketing for this was smart sense most bottles are white with red or green lettering.  So far I hear people are impressed with this product, but when it comes from Bissell it's almost definitely gonna be a good buy.  So everyone let me know what you think of this product or which one works best for you.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Pig now thinks it's a dog because of a miracle

A farmer found a baby pig under it's mother nearly crushed to death so the farmer then did CPR on the pig and let his dog take over the nursing of the pig.  The heartwarming story continues Piggy story. is where the story came from.

Kong Braidz Plush Toy

It's been a couple of days since I posted any toy reviews.  I have seen this toy around for a while and decided to get it and see how my dog handles it.  That reminds me this week i'm going to be looking in to how to hook my video camera up so I can do videos on toys.  YAAAA!!! Videos Coming Soon!!!.
   Ok so back to the toy review.  These toys are great for gentle dogs and that have supervision with the toy.  Given the opportunity my dog had already ripped an arm off. That was within 5 minutes of having in.  But for things like fetch and tug o war, it's a great toy.  It can be thrown in the washer to clean it.  Having the body being braided makes it a little more durable for tugging.  Let me know if you have used this toy and what you think.

I give this toy 7 paws out of 10!!

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Do you use Dog coats or do you think dogs need them? Or Build a dog house

So i get many mixed feeling from people about putting coats on their dogs.  Many good and many bad.  For some dogs it's not necessary to put a coat on but then you have your more gentle breeds on dogs that shiver in the cold and don't have a lot of fur to protect them from the harsh winter.  My dog is a 70lbs Shepard mix and I put a coat on him because he gets chilly when walked outside and it quite obvious that he is cold.  Think of it this way would you be ok with someone telling you, you don't need a coat because you have thick body hair.  Dogs are meant to stay warm with their fur coats but breeding over the year can make the dog a little less tolerable to the cold because their are more and more a house pet not an outdoor animal like used before.  With the many dog breeds out their that don't do good with the cold you need to get a coat for them.  For out door dogs you can always build a dog house if you go to this site their are some great ideas for building one.  Easy plans to build a dog house!.
The site shows many good ideas on different ways to build a dog house.  I Love it.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Best thing for: I cut my dogs nail and it's bleeding what should I use?

So a lot and I mean a lot of people have this problem when they decide they want to cut their dogs nail.  You will clip one a little to short and make it bleed.  So what can you use to stop the bleeding here's a list.  Ever since the dremel like nail sanders.  Honestly those dremel tools and pedipaws don't work with all dogs so beware.  Alot of dogs are afraid of the noise that is made by it.  Even if they are ok with the noise good luck getting your dog to stand still long enough for you to be able to sand all their nail.
Remember your dog can bleed to DEATH if bleeding isn't stopped.

1. Flour
2. Styptic powder
3. Quick Stop 
4. Cornstarch

After using one of these make sure your dog keeps of his feet for a little while.  If your dog is allowed to get the blood flow down will push out the stuff used to clog the bleeding.  Also check out some durable dog toy ideas here at my other website

Why keeping up on trimming your dogs nails matters.

So alot lately I see people bringing in their dogs to get their nails done.  Most people wait way to long to bring their pets in usually 5 months is the average.  What people don't realize is that when you wait that long your dogs quik grows longer also which makes it so the nail can't be cut as much because it will bleed a lot easier.  You should do your dogs nails every 4 weeks or so is usually best.  That way all you have to do is cut a little off and your all done.  I hate it when I see people that wait til their nail has grown into their paw pads, just cruel.  Yes your dog wears them done when they are playing but that usually isn't enough.

Whats best to use to cut nails?  Well first off all theirs a product called the Quik finder and it supposedly alerts you when you are close to the quik, but honestly this product doesn't work all that well I get many complaints about it. The first picture of the nail trimmer is the one you want to use it makes a clean cut on the nail and is easier to grip and get a good view of the nail.  The Second one the guillotine is cheaper for a reason lol, it tends to break the nail which causes bleeding and is messy to stop, also you have to hold it at a weird angle.
So go with th regular nail trimmer.

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Gentle Leader or Halti. Why not to use a pinch or choke collar.

Premier Pet Products Medium Gentle Leader Headcollar- BlueHalti Headcollar Black Size 1So recently their has been alot of popularity in halti's and Gentle Leaders.  Both are great products but each one has it's ups and down's.  The first picture is a Gentle Leader, how both these work is just like a horse head piece, it uses the old saying "were the head goes you go".  It uses the two bands to control the head and pulls your dogs face towards you when it starts pulling, which defeats why a dog pulls.

Why dogs pull is a easy one to answer they pull because they are determined to get to something.

The Gentle Leader is great especially the safety attachment that hooks to the dogs collar in case they slip out of it.  The only other problem I have with this is when my dog shakes his lead comes undone from the gentle leader it's self.

The Halti is a great product to but doesn't have the safety attachment.  But I have had very good luck with it not slipping off.  This product does a great job stopping your dog from pulling.

Want to find more great deals on dog products.  I also run a dog toy review site that reviews toys, and everything, come check it out.

Do not use Choker collars, pinch collars.  These collars are inhumane and can cause serious injury to the dog if not used properly.  They can cause damage or puncture wounds to the throat and neck or even collapse wind pipes in dogs.

How to use these products.  Put the head collar on your dog when they eat, walk and other short periods of time so that the dog gets use to the collar being on.  Yes they are going to dig at ti for a little while and some a week or so.  Then walk your dog on your right side, with your dog walking side by side with you.  When the dog starts to pull or mess wit the collar just give a little tug so it takes their attention off of it.  Then when returning from your walk take it off and give them a treat and even you can give them a treat before putting it on.

The best bone that is indestructible, doesn't splinter and can be filled with treats.

Sterilized beef bones is what i'm talking about.  These bones are great my dog has about 5 of them and the oldest is about a little over a year and their are a few divets made in it.  These are practically indestructible except you do have some dogs out their that are the jaws of life and can take these done but very few.  These bones are alot better than rawhide because these don't usually break in to smaller pieces like rawhide and we all know puppies under a year old can't digest rawhide.  You can also fill these bones with fillers.

List of what you can fill the bone with:
Peanut Butter.
Cheese whiz.
Rice and peanut butter
Kong Filler
                                   and many more......

So check these bones out their better than rawhide, compressed rawhide, knuckle bones.  They go for a cheap price and usually any retail store sells them or even amazon does.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Save money building your own dog house. Don't go Retail.

After all these years looking for a decent dog house it's hard to find.  Most dog houses are plastic now which isn't very good material to build a dog house out of.  If you decided to go with the wooded ones that are sold in retail stores, you would get a low quality of "fake" wood.  It would fall apart in a strong wind storm.  But everyone I think knows that.  I honestly think that the best way to ensure a well built dog house is to build it, you don't even have to be a carpenter( trust me I'm definitely not).  Also you can design it the way you want to and you can sometimes save money by buying the materials your self.  I also know this great e-book you can preview it at this site. Easy Build, Dog House

What to look for in a dog pooper scooper.

Their are many kinds of pooper scooper out their and sometimes it gets hard to pick from just one.  Well start with the Jaw Scooper,  Its a great tool but only one problem if you have 2 dogs or more it can make it difficult to pick up things unless you drop the first pick up.  Also with these a lot of people complain that the springs come undone and it stops working frequently.

Second the small spade is my favorite to use because you can pick up multiple piles with out dropping the other.  Second if anything gets stuck on the spade you can just clean it off on the grass or snow or leaves.  You don't have to worry about any springs to break.  Overall they are a great product.

Third is the rake scoop these are the same as the spade except the rake can get "stuff" in it and sometimes depending on the design it can be tough to get stuff off of it.

Let me know what ever thinks what do you prefer or do you prefer the good old fashion way of picking it by hand?

Twilight helps make "bella" a top dog name.

Bella becomes the top name for dogs for 2009 it surpassed max by about 400 votes check out this site for the rest.  I wouldn't think that Twilight could have made a popular name from bella.  Aren't vampires trying to kill the wolves(dog)? kind of weird

My puppy won't stop jump on people how do i stop it?

This is a very common problem with a lot of puppy owners, but don't fear it's a easy issue to solve well most of the time it is.  Their are two popular ways to do this, the first is to get a no jump harness but trying to put one of those on can be a nightmare, so we'll go with that if this doesn't work.  I know a lot of people saw to knee their dog in the chest if it acts up, but I have heard of dogs DYING from this careless thing to do.  What works is simplly telling people when they come over not to pay attention to your dog until they sit.  Dogs jump because they are trying to get the persons attention and when the visitor pets your dog it's encouraging them to jump.

How not to be rude to people when telling them not to let your dog jump up.  You can simply say before they come in to the house.  "We are currently training are dog and if the jump up on you simply turn away from them and make them sit." Usually people are ok with it.  But sometimes you need to train the visitor because not everyone listens lol.

So when the dog is sitting allow them to pet them and if they jump up again tell them not to pet them.  This is important to teach dogs young. It's easier to stop a 25lb puppy than a 95 lb adult.  Just keep using the sit command with your dog when you have visitors.

Don't give up just think puppy's are like kids but you only go through it for at most 2 years not 18.

Monday, January 18, 2010

My dog keeps nipping at my hands and fingers how do I get them to stop? Thanks Bill from KY

My dog keeps nipping at my hands and fingers how do I get them to stop?

I find this being a common problem with almost every puppy.  First lets break it down into why your dog may nip at you, the usual answer is them either trying to get your attention or trying to play with you.  Most people unfortunately she this as a aggressive behavior and get rid of the dog.  You could use Fooey read my other article Fooey vs. Bitter apple .  But I find the best way to stop it without leave a nasty after taste on your hand is to use the gel hand sanitizer and when they start to chew your hand or body part, is to smear the hand sanitizer on that part and let them bite it again and watch their face, it usually only takes a couple times for them to stop nipping but every once in a while you have to remind them.  I did this with my dog and after only 3 times he stopped nipping.

If you want to stop this problem before it becomes a problem check out this e-book by Shannon Emmanuel here's the website.  Choosing the best dog for your kids. Check it out!